Training ITIL®

Training goals dlearning

code: ITIL-SD

Training + exam in the price

ITIL® is comprised of five core publications: Service Strategy (SS), Service Design (SD), Service Transition (ST), Service Operations (SO) and Continual Service Improvement (CSI). It promotes alignment with the business as well as improvement in operational efficiency. The official ITIL® qualification scheme, owned by AXELOS, describes two streams, the Service Lifecycle Stream and the Service Capability stream:

  • The Service Lifecycle stream focuses on ITIL® practices within the Service Lifecycle context. The primary focus is the Lifecycle itself as well as the processes and practice elements used within it.
  • The Service Capability stream is for those who wish to obtain an in depth understanding of specific ITIL® processes and roles. The primary focus is on process activities, process execution and use throughout the IT Service Lifecycle.

The ITIL® SD (Service Design) course is part of the ITIL® Intermediate Lifecycle stream. The course prepares candidates to take the ITIL® Service Design Intermediate exam as well as providing valuable knowledge that can be implemented in the workplace. The Service Design Certificate is a free-standing qualification but is also part of the ITIL® Intermediate Lifecycle Stream. It is one of the modules that leads to the ITIL® Expert Certificate in IT Service Management (ITSM). The purpose of this module, exam and certificate is, to impart, test, and validate the knowledge on industry practices in IT Service Management as documented in the ITIL® Service Design publication.

This qualification provides a complete management-level overview of Service Design including all its related activities. Candidates can expect to gain competencies in the following:

  • Introduction to Service Design
  • Service Design principles
  • Service Design Processes
  • Service Design technology-related activities
  • Organizing for Service Design
  • Technology considerations
  • Implementation and improvement of Service Design
  • Challenges, risks and critical success factors.

In addition, the training for this certification includes examination preparation, and a mock examination.

This lifecycle stage focuses on organizing and maintaining the day-to-day Service Design. Participants will learn the principles and core elements along with the activities and technology & implementation considerations within this stage of the Service Lifecycle. An interactive approach is used combining lecture, discussion and case study experience to prepare participants for the ITIL® Intermediate Service Design certification exam as well as providing valuable practical knowledge that can be rapidly applied in the workplace. The integrated case study deepens the participant's appreciation of how ITIL® best practices can be applied in order to improve IT performance. Practical assignments are used throughout the course to enhance the learning experience.

Conspect Show list

    • Service Design -Introduction
    • Purpose and objectives
    • Scope of Service Design
    • Service Design Processes
    • Value to the Business
    • Inputs and Outputs within the Service
    • The Service design Package
    • Service Acceptance Criteria
    • The ITIL® Certification scheme
    • The exam format
    • Service Design Principles and Service
    • Importance and approach to a balanced design
    • Service Requirements, business requirements and drivers
    • Design activities and constraints
    • Principles and the five aspects of Service Design
    • The 5 Design aspects
    • Designing service solutions components
    • Designing management systems(Service Portfolio)
    • Designing measurement systems
    • Designing technology architectures
    • Designing processes
    • Service Oriented Architecture (SOA)
    • Service Design Models
    • Design and development Approaches
    • Service Design
    • In-depth Design Coordination
    • Service Catalog Management
    • Service Level Management
    • Capacity Management
    • Availability Management
    • IT Service Continuity Management
    • Information Security Management
    • Supplier Management
    • Requirements Engineering
    • Documenting Requirements
    • Data and Information Management
    • Application Management
    • Functions and Organizational structures
    • The RACI model
    • Roles and Activity Analysis
    • Roles and Responsibilities within Service Design
    • Service Design Tools
    • Service Management tools
    • Tool evaluation criteria
    • Service Design activities related to
      • BIA,
      • SLR's
      • Risks
    • Six Stage Implementation Approach
    • CSF's and KPi's
    • Prerequisites for success
    • Risks
    • Sample Exams
    • Feedback
    • Recap
Download conspect training as PDF

Additional information


An ITIL® Foundation certificat.

Difficulty level
Duration 4 days

About the Exam: Multiple choice, scenariobased, gradient scored questions. Number of Questions: 8. Pass Score: 28/40 or 70%. Exam Delivery: Online or paper based. Exam Duration: 90 minutes. Open/Closed Book: Closed Book.


Authorized PEOPLECERT Trainer.

Additional informations

ITIL® is a registered trade mark of AXELOS Limited, used under permission of AXELOS Limited. All rights reserved.

The Swirl logo™ is a trade mark of AXELOS Limited, used under permission of AXELOS Limited. All rights reserved.

Training thematically related

Project Management

Business Training

IT Governance



Contact form

Please fill form below to obtain more info about this training.

* Fields marked with (*) are required !!!

Information on data processing by Compendium - Centrum Edukacyjne Spółka z o.o.


  • In order to propose a date for this training, please contact the Sales Department